Paleo Diet Food List

Many people have had success following the Paleo diet. Those who follow it strictly report loosing weight and feeling much healthier.

Is It Paleo? Can I Eat It? A-K Guide

Some of the most frequently asked Paleo questions are whether or not you can eat certain foods. Here are the most popular foods from A-K. If you're looking for foods L-Z click here.
Alcohol – Alcohol is not recommended on Paleo, and that includes all types including beer, gin, hard cider, champagne, white wine, red wine, vodka, whiskey, scotch and everything else.
Almonds – Definitely recommended when on Paleo. Almonds provide healthy fats and some protein and are an example of what Paleolithic man would have been able to gather. Almond butter, almond flour, and almond milk are also allowed.
Apples – An apple a day keeps the doctor away, and is something you can follow while on Paleo. Applesauce can also be enjoyed, just be sure it is unsweetened.
Arctic Zero – Not technically, no. Although there are plenty of natural ingredients and an attempt to make it healthy, a Paleo purist would not eat it.
Avocado – Yes, avocados are a recommended fruit while on Paleo and provide the much-needed healthy fats that are a factor in the Paleo diet.
Bacon – Bacon is a generally accepted Paleo food, and found in many Paleo recipes. Uncured, nitrate-free bacon from a naturally raised pig would be closest to being fully Paleo. Turkey bacon also gets the thumbs up, as long as it is all-natural.
Bananas – Bananas are a fruit that we’ve been enjoying since before the time of Paleo, so yes, they’re definitely Paleo-approved. Stick to organic bananas.
BBQ Sauce – The BBQ sauce by the big name brands is most certainly NOT Paleo. Buying organic gives you a better shot at it being Paleo, but making it at home is your best bet. 
Beans – Beans are not allowed on Paleo, as the entire legume family gets the ax. This even includes black beans which you’ll often see promoted on other diet programs, as well as lima beans.
Beef Jerky – You’ll want to make sure to make your own beef jerky, as most types of manufactured beef jerky are loaded with non-Paleo ingredients like sugar, iodized salt, and other additives.
Bread – Bread made from wheat and other grains is not an option on Paleo, which means you’ll want to avoid much of the bread aisle at the grocery store, even many loaves labeled gluten-free. Don’t despair if you’re a bread lover, as there are many Paleo bread recipes that show you how to make delicious bread you can enjoy without guilt.
Broccoli – Broccoli is a recommended Paleo veggie. It’s one of your better choices thanks to the fiber it contains. It’s important to eat a good amount of fiber to help your digestive system with all the meat that’s eaten on Paleo.
Buckwheat – Far too much prep work goes into buckwheat to make this a Paleo food. It’s not something our early ancestors would have known how to eat.
Butter – Butter gets the official no-go since it’s dairy. However, many Paleo followers will use organic, grass-fed butter as a Paleo fat for cooking and baking.
Butternut Squash – While not a preferred vegetable because of their starchiness, squash is allowed while on Paleo.
Carrots – Carrots are an approved Paleo vegetable, and can be consumed in any quantity desired.
Cheese – Cheese gets the ax on Paleo for falling under the Dairy category. It’s simply not something Paleo man would have had the wherewithal to make. While Paleo purists will abstain from cheese completely, many Paleo followers find that certain cheese don’t cause problems, such as Parmesan or goat cheese. It is up to you to take a self-test and decide which cheese, if any, you’re willing to eat.
Chicken – Chicken is pretty much an essential part of the Paleo diet. Organic or all-natural chicken is readily available in grocery stores and supermarkets, making it a convenient go-to for any Paleo meal. Chicken skin can be eaten, but lean chicken like boneless skinless chicken breast is preferred. Chicken wings are one gametime treat that you don’t have to give up on Paleo.
Chili – As long as there aren’t any beans or other legumes in the chili, it’s probably Paleo. Paleo chili made up of meat and vegetables is a fantastic dish to help get you through the long winter season. Here are 47 Paleo chilis that only use approved ingredients.

Chipotle – A Burrito Bowl or a Salad at Chipotle is the way to keep things Paleo. Load it up with your choice of meat, chicken, steak, barbacoa, or carnitas, add fajita vegetables, salsa, lettuce, and top it off with guacamole. Avoid cheese, sour cream, tortillas, beans, and rice.
Chocolate – Dark chocolate is the only chocolate that you can have on Paleo, as it doesn’t have the milk and added sugar that milk chocolate contains. Dark chocolate also provides you with antioxidants and can satisfy your chocolate craving without causing you to go off the approved food list.
Coconut Milk – Coconut milk is Paleo friendly and a great way to make a creamy soup or for use in a baking recipe.
Coconut Water – Coconut water is definitely Paleo. Check the ingredients list to make sure that it is 100% pure coconut water with no unnecessary additives.
Coffee – Black coffee is considered Paleo. Coffee with an approved Paleo sweetener like Sweet Leaf also falls under the Paleo banner. Adding dairy creamer, refined sugar, or other toppings and ingredients puts it in the Not Paleo category.
Coke Zero – You’ll want to avoid products like this that try to tempt you with a zero calorie promise. They’re full of artificial sweeteners, chemicals created in a laboratory to taste sweet but contain no sugar. Anything artificial is not Paleo.
Coleslaw – Coleslaw ordered in a restaurant or bought from the grocery store will not be Paleo because of the mayonnaise and added sugar. Make it from home to insure quality, using this Paleo coleslaw recipe if you’d like.
Corn – Corn is not allowed on Paleo because it is a grain. Since conventional corn is loaded with GMOs this is a fantastic food to stay away from. Popcorn is also included in this exclusion.
Cottage Cheese – Cottage cheese is made from cow’s milk, and is not something that would have taken the time to make in Paleo times.
Couscous – Couscous is made from wheat, and as such is not allowed on Paleo.
Crystal Light – Crystal Light contains mostly artificial sweeteners and other chemicals and is an example of the kind of drinks you don’t want to consume on Paleo.
Curry – Curry spice is Paleo approved, and many curry recipes fall in line with a Paleo diet.
Dairy – Dairy is an entire food group that is not allowed on Paleo. The reason is that Paleolithic man didn’t have the ability to milk a cow, as they didn’t keep domesticated livestock. There’s also the added problems with today’s conventional dairy products being derived from cows that have been loaded with antibiotics and fed a diet that is not in harmony with what they would naturally eat.
Deli Meat (Lunch Meat) – Deli meat can be eaten on Paleo, but is not the preferred way to get your meat intake due to the fact that it is heavily processed, often with tons of added sodium and other preservatives.
Diet Soda – Diet sodas are notorious for their artificial sweeteners and other chemicals. They should be avoided entirely while doing Paleo.
Dried Fruit – Dried fruit usually contains far too much sugar to be recommended on Paleo. Many fruits are already high in fructose, and with the sugar added during the drying process they end up containing just as much sugar as some candy. Dates are one example of a dried fruit with plenty of sugar. Dried coconut
Duck – Duck is a Paleo meat that can be enjoyed as often as you’d like.
Edamame – Edamame is a premature soybean, and hence a legume and not allowed on the Paleo diet.
Egg Beaters – Egg Beaters could be considered Paleo, but there’s no reason not to use real, entire eggs.
Egg Drop Soup – If you’re craving egg drop soup, don’t get it from your local Chinese restaurant, as you won’t know what’s in it. Make it yourself with organic chicken broth and organic free-range eggs. Quality control is key on Paleo.
Eggplant – Yes, eggplant is one of the approved Paleo veggies.
Eggs – Eggs are definitely a Paleo food, and yes you should eat the yolks.
Evaporated Cane Juice – This is essentially sugar, and is typically found in ingredients list as a way of saying sugar. Refined sugars are not recommended on Paleo.
Ezekiel BreFeta Cheese – Cheese as a whole is not allowed when strictly following Paleo. However, many Paleo followers make an exception for some types of cheese, feta being one of them as its derived from goat milk. Test how your body handles it in small amounts.
Figs – Dried figs generally contain too much sugar to be recommended as a Paleo food. Fresh figs make the grade, and can be eaten in moderation along with other fruits.
Fish – All types of fish are considered Paleo friendly and are recommended. Look for wild caught fish to more closely mimic the sort of fish our ancestors would have eaten.
Fish Oil – Fish oil is Paleo friendly, although you’ll need to be very choosy about the kind you buy. Make sure that you are buying a pure fish oil that doesn’t contain fillers or additives, and that is potent enough to make a difference for a person of your size.
Fish Sauce – Properly made fish sauce gets the Paleo seal of approval. You’ll need to check the brand you’re using to make sure that it only uses fish and salt for its ingredients.
Flan – Most traditionally prepared flan is not Paleo due to the large amounts of sugar, milk, and cream. A Paleo version of the flan would sub the honey for sugar, and coconut milk for the dairy.
Flaxseed – Flaxseed is a recommended source of omega-3s on the Paleo diet.
Flour – General or All-Purpose flour is a no-go on Paleo. Go with a grain-free version of flour in your baking, like coconut flour or almond flour.
French Fries – Potatoes are a no-go on Paleo, and therefore French fries are as well. As an alternative go with sweet potato fries fried up in an approved Paleo oil.
French Onion Soup – A normal bowl of French onion soup would get the no-go because there’s a slab of bread that goes on top, and a layer of cheese as well.
Fried Chicken – As long as the chicken is organic, and either not breaded or coated in a Paleo-friendly coating like almond meal, and fried in an approved oil, it could be Paleo. Most fried chicken you’ll find for sale is not Paleo approved.
Fried Fish – You’ll want to check out which oil the fish is fried in. Frying up fish in a Paleo friendly oil would be – It contains grains and legumes, two items that aren’t Paleo.
Frozen Vegetables – Frozen vegetables are frozen at the time they are fresh, and contain many of the same vitamins and nutrients as their fresh counterparts. Go with organic frozen vegetables and you’ll be all set.
Frozen Yogurt – No. Frozen yogurt is made from milk which is not recommended on Paleo.
Fruit – Many fruits are approved for Paleo eating, including apples, oranges, bananas, and even watermelon. Fruit is not a major staple on the Paleo diet, and takes a back seat to meat and vegetables, but is still important for the antioxidants and fiber it contains.
Gatorade – Due to the high large amounts of sugar in Gatorade, it’s not something that’s allowed on Paleo. While the first ingredient may be water, the next two are sugar and glucose, adding up to 34 grams of sugar in a 20 ounce bottle.
Gelatin – Organic, unflavored gelatin is considered Paleo.
Gluten-Free Bread – Just because a bread is labeled Gluten-Free or GF doesn’t mean it’s Paleo friendly. You’ll need to check the rest of the ingredients to see if there are any grains used.
Goat Cheese – The great cheese debate rolls on in the Paleo community. Paleo sticklers will avoid all cheese, no matter which animal it comes from. Others say that since goat cheese is more easily digested by many, that it’s OK in moderation. You’ll have to come up with your own conclusion.
Granola – Luckily there are plenty of Paleo granola recipes to choose from, as well as our in-house granola recipe.
Grapes – Grapes are an approved Paleo fruit, but should be eaten in moderation because of their sugar content.
Grapeseed Oil – Not a recommended Paleo oil. Opt instead of olive oil or coconut oil.
Greek Yogurt – Even though Greek yogurt made quite a buzz in dieting circles, it’s still not allowed in Paleo as it falls under the dairy category.
Green Beans – Although green beans are classified as a legume, they are thought of as Paleo friendly by several leading Paleo authorities.
Green Tea – Green tea is an herbal tea that can be enjoyed on Paleo. It is full of antioxidants and has several health benefits and is worth taking the time to make and drink.
Guar Gum – This is a common additive to coconut milk, and also a legume. The small amounts found in coconut milk are likely not a problem for most Paleo followers, but if you notice a sensitivity to it you may want to avoid coconut milk brands that include it.
Ham – While not one of the best meat choices, you can have ham while on Paleo. It’s best to go with leaner, less-processed forms of pork, such as a pork chop or pork loin, but ham is allowed.
Heavy Cream – Heavy cream is dairy and not allowed on Paleo. Look at using coconut cream as a suitable non-dairy replacement.
Hemp Protein – Made from hemp seeds, which are Paleo friendly, hemp protein is an option for Paleo eaters that want to supplement their diet. It’s always good to assess whether you need a protein supplement if you’re following the Paleo diet as recommended.
Honey – Raw, organic honey is an approved sweetener on Paleo. It features heavily in Paleo desserts and baked goods.
Hot Dogs – You’ll want to avoid hot dogs while on Paleo due to the low grade of meats used, and the processing it undergoes.
Hot Sauce – Hot sauce is Paleo friendly, but you’ll need to check the ingredients list to make sure that you’re using a brand that doesn’t add non-Paleo ingredients to the sauce, like added sugar.
Hummus – Made from chickpeas, a legume, and therefore not allowed on the Paleo diet.
Ice Cream – Made from milk and not allowed on Paleo. But don’t let that stop you from making any of these Paleo friendly ice creams.
Jam and Jelly – Even though they’re made from fruit, these preserves contain too much sugar to be eaten on Paleo.
JELL-O – Jell-o is a good example of what not to eat on Paleo. While it contains gelatin, a Paleo friendly ingredient, sugar is the lead ingredient, as well as artificial flavor and color added. In a 22 gram serving size 19 grams are sugar.
Juice – You’ll want to avoid drinking juice while on Paleo, unless you juiced it yourself. Commercial juices contain added sugar in large amounts, often rivaling soda pop.

Kale – Kale is a superfood that can and should be eaten while on Paleo. Eating kale chips is a great way to overcome a potato chip craving.
Kamut – Kamut is a grain and therefore not a Paleo food.
Kefir – Kefir is a no-go because it’s dairy.
Kerrygold Butter – Because this butter uses milk from grass-fed cows, it’s technically more Paleo than conventional butter. However, Paleo purists will still avoid it because it’s dairy.
Ketchup – Avoid store bought ketchup unless you go organic. There’s plenty of sugar in commercial ketchup, and high fructose corn syrup in the most popular brands. Even then you may just want to make your own Paleo ketchup to have full quality control and nix the sugar altogether.
KFC – Fast food of all types is not Paleo.
Kimchi – Traditional kimchi, made from cabbage or other vegetables, is Paleo.
KIND Bars – You’ll want to steer clear of their line of bars made from grains. Their Nut Delight variety includes peanuts, rice, and soy lecithin. It’s probably best to avoid these bars while on Paleo.
Kombucha – Kombucha is Paleo friendly, and like most foods it’s best to do it yourself at home rather than trust what’s sold on store shelves. If you must buy it